J.A. Kufuor named on MTN’s International Advisory Board

Former President John Agyekum Kufuor has been named on MTN’s International Advisory Board (IAB) alongside former South African President Thabo Mbeki.

A statement issued by the telecoms company said the advisory board is a new creation with a goal to guide and support MTN in fulfilling its vision of increasing its footprint across the continent.

The board will be non-statutory in nature and will not have any fiduciary responsibility, but MTN said it will play a highly valued role in ensuring the board is guided to achieve its goals.

MTN said that the IAB will be chaired by former President Thabo Mbeki and will include the following members:

  • John Kufuor, former President of Ghana
  • Dr. Aisha Abdullahi, former African Union Commissioner for Political Affairs
  • Dr. Mohammed ElBaradei, former Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency
  • Dr. Momar Nguer, President of Marketing & Services Total S.A. (France)
  • Phuthuma Nhleko, Chairman of MTN Group

The board is expected to commence operations on 1 July 2019.

Leadership change

MTN also announced that its group chairman, Phuthuma Nhleko, will step down on 15 December 2019 and will be succeeded by former South African deputy finance minister Mcebisi Jonas.

The company added that Dr. Khotso Mokhele will assume the position of lead independent director with effect from 15 December 2019.

Alan Harper, Jeff Van Rooyen, and Koosum Kaylan will all step down from the Board on this date after

handing over to incoming directors.

“We are pleased to welcome onto the Board Lamido Sanusi and Vincent Rague with effect from 1 July 2019,” MTN added.

Before stepping down as chairman, Phuthuma Nhleko will oversee the establishment of an International Advisory Board (AIB) comprising “persons of considerable and wide-ranging experience”.